语境与对话:佛教唯识宗与当代心理学之潜意识论

语境与对话:佛教唯识宗与当代心理学之潜意识论

夏威夷大学出版社

目录亚马逊有售

佛教中是否有无意识概念?如果有,是接近弗洛伊德、荣格、或者别的范式?如果没有,佛教中类似的概念能否与弗洛伊德、荣格或其他范式相协调?这些都是当代学者在研究阿赖耶识过程中提出的一些问题。阿赖耶识,即藏识,在佛教唯识宗(瑜伽行派)中被制定义为藏储各种心理活动、习惯以及未来可能性的潜意识库。

但在蒋韬看来,以这样的问题去研究阿赖耶识是有问题的,因为这些问题对佛教概念的解释都是以现代心理学的框架作为出发点。他提出,如果我们要正确理解阿赖耶识,并负责任地将其与当代心理学中的无意识进行比较,就需要改变提问题的方式,使阿赖耶识和无意识首先能在其自身缘起的原生语境下得以分析理解,然后再从对话的语境下被重新解读。这样做,佛教和现代心理学理论的原始框架中自带的某些范式与假设就可以同时被凸显出来。蒋韬将玄奘的阿赖耶识和弗洛伊德及荣格的无意识结合起来,集中讨论了这三种理论体系不同的关注点,理论目标的差别以及迥异的理论化方法。以此来深度探讨三种潜意识论异同及其意义。

《语境与对话》对潜意识进行了一个生动、博学、精辟的介绍。本书为比较哲学也提出了一个新的研究范式,即通过原生语境和对比语境的方法来探讨哲学体系的相似性和差异性。

评荐

  • 《东方与西方哲学》(Philosophy East & West)

    “蒋韬将读者带进一个奇妙的终结点,使读者能体会到跨学科讨论的优越性。蒋韬强调,这种讨论不能在浅层次上进行,因为由此所获得的新知识非常少。他指出,我们必须学会通过他所说的“语境和对话”与不同的学科接触。总的来说,蒋教授以这种方式为跨学科研究创造一种新的方法论,其主要的论点表述得非常成功。”

  • H-Net 书评 (H-Net Reviews)

    “蒋的这本书在三个层面上取得了成功:首先,它对佛教瑜伽行派进行了清楚简明的介绍;其次,它阐明了佛教和西方心理学对意识的理解存在着非常重要的差异;最后,它为从事比较哲学研究的学者提供了正确的方法论。看完这本书时,人们相信佛教和现代心理学之间的有效对话是可能的,但如果不对他们各自的范式差异进行充分的分析,这一对话的成果就会不大。”

  • 《佛教与基督教研究》(Buddhist-Christian Studies)

    “蒋的书谨慎指出了比较研究方法中存在的潜在问题,这在当前比较研究流行的学术氛围中是很有意义的。所有从事比较研究的学者(即使是那些对佛教瑜伽行派不感兴趣的人)都应该将此书列入他们的阅读清单。”

  • 《中国哲学杂志》(Journal of Chinese Philosophy)

    “《语境与对话》一书对三位开创性思想家的理论体系做了有用而简洁的介绍,并令人信服地扩大了比较哲学方法论的视野。”

  • 《道》(Dao)

    “蒋韬的这一精彩著作将吸引广大的读者。他成功地平衡了不同读者的需求和方法论问题,并在这一过程中专注于他的主要目标。总言之,这部作品非常成功。它指出了这些观点之间具体对话中的可能性,也为更广泛的跨文化研究做出积极有效的尝试。”

目录

Loading PDF…

Contexts and Dialogue: Yogācāra Buddhism and Modern Psychology on the Subliminal Mind

Contexts and Dialogue: Yogācāra Buddhism and Modern Psychology on the Subliminal Mind

University of Hawaii Press

Table of ContentsAvailable on Amazon

Are there Buddhist conceptions of the unconscious? If so, are they more Freudian, Jungian, or something else? If not, can Buddhist conceptions be reconciled with the Freudian, Jungian, or other models? These are some of the questions that have motivated modern scholarship to approach ālayavijñāna, the storehouse consciousness, formulated in Yogācāra Buddhism as a subliminal reservoir of tendencies, habits, and future possibilities.

Tao Jiang argues convincingly that such questions are inherently problematic because they frame their interpretations of the Buddhist notion largely in terms of responses to modern psychology. He proposes that, if we are to understand ālayavijñāna properly and compare it with the unconscious responsibly, we need to change the way the questions are posed so that ālayavijñāna and the unconscious can first be understood within their own contexts and then recontextualized within a dialogical setting. In so doing, certain paradigmatic assumptions embedded in the original frameworks of Buddhist and modern psychological theories are exposed. Jiang brings together Xuan Zang’s ālayavijñāna and Freud’s and Jung’s unconscious to focus on what the differences are in the thematic concerns of the three theories, why such differences exist in terms of their objectives, and how their methods of theorization contribute to these differences.

Contexts and Dialogue puts forth a fascinating, erudite, and carefully argued presentation of the subliminal mind. It proposes a new paradigm in comparative philosophy that examines the what, why, and how in navigating the similarities and differences of philosophical systems through contextualization and recontextualization.

Reviews

  • Philosophy East & West

    “The wonderful sense of conclusion that Jiang brings to the reader is conveyed in the idea that there is much to be learned through interdisciplinary discussion. Jiang emphasizes that this discussion cannot take place at a shallow level, as very little new knowledge can be gained thereby. The point is made that we must learn to engage with different disciplines through what he calls ‘‘context and dialogue.’’ Overall, Jiang’s main argument for the importance of creating a new methodology for cross-disciplinary research in this way is presented very successfully.”

  • H-Net Reviews

    “Jiang’s book succeeds on three levels: first, it offers an exceptionally clear introduction to Yogācāra Buddhism; second, it illuminates one very general and important difference between the models of mind in Buddhism and western psychology; and finally, it provides the right methodological cue for scholars engaged in comparative philosophical work. One leaves this book convinced that synthetic dialogue between Buddhism and modern psychology is possible, but that it will falter without adequate analysis of the paradigmatic differences that shape their respective projects.”

  • Buddhist-Christian Studies

    “Jiang’s work … is a cautious reminder about the potential dangers of comparison that is helpful in the current academic climate, where comparative approaches are so popular. All who undertake comparative endeavors (even those who are not interested in Yogācāra Buddhism) should read Jiang’s book.”

  • Journal of Chinese Philosophy

    “Contexts and Dialogue rewards readers with useful and yet succinct introductions to the work of three seminal thinkers, and convincingly expands the methodological horizons of comparative philosophy.”

  • Dao

    “Jiang’s stimulating work will appeal to a wide audience. He has succeeded in balancing the needs of various readers along with methodological issues and in so doing stayed focused on his primary goals. Overall, the work is a great success, points to new possibilities for dialogue between these viewpoints specifically, and attempts at cross-cultural study more generally.”

Table of Contents

Loading PDF…