部分学术活动

播客采访:中国先秦道德政治哲学的起源,2022年3月24日

location播客: New Books Network

“庄子人生思想中的个人自由,” 马翰系列讲座, 葛底斯堡学院, 2021年11月15日

location葛底斯堡学院,宾夕法尼亚,美国

“庄子与中国历史上自由思想的悲剧,” 沼田系列讲座, 加拿大卡尔加里大学, 2021年10月29日

location卡尔加里, 艾伯塔省, 加拿大

中国哲学研讨会

location罗格斯大学,新布朗维斯克校区,新泽西,美国

为了促进西方学术界对中国哲学的更好理解,蒋韬与安靖如(Stephen Angle)和 Ruth Chang 在 2012 年成立了罗格斯中国哲学研讨会(RWCP)(2018 年 Chang 去牛津大学任教后,其位置由 Dean Zimmerman 接替)。RWCP 旨在为中国哲学和西方分析哲学之间搭建一座桥梁,促进双方建设性的对话,希望以此促进中国哲学融入西方学术界的主流。RWCP 每两年举办一次。

与普利策奖获得者伊恩・约翰逊谈中国经历

locationZoom 视频网络

2020 年 9 月 25 日,蒋韬和罗格斯大学教育学院 Tanja Sargent 与伊恩・约翰逊 (普利策奖获得者、西方知名的驻华记者)进行了一场 90 分钟的深度讨论。约翰逊回顾了他在中国20年的工作和生活经历。

凤凰网采访

location九华山,安徽,中国

2019 年 7 月 21 日,蒋韬在九华山参加一个禅宗与中国文化的论坛时,接受了凤凰网的采访。采访的重点是自由的概念及其在近代以前的中国政治中的地位。内容大致基于蒋韬于 2012 年发表在《中国哲学杂志》上的文章《以赛亚・柏林对庄子逍遥观的挑战》。凤凰网对禅宗论坛和此次采访都进行了详细的报道。阅读文字报道或浏览插图新闻

宗教与中国道德基础的重建

location华美协会,纽约,美国

2018 年 6 月 7 日,蒋韬在纽约中国研究所与自由撰稿人伊恩・约翰逊(普利策奖得主,《中国的灵魂》的作者)进行了一场有关“宗教与中国道德基础的重建”的对话。由《洛杉矶时报》记者芭芭拉・德米克(前《洛杉矶时报》北京和首尔分社社长,《无可羡慕:北韩普通人的生活》的作者)主持。《星岛日报》对此次活动进行了广泛报道,该报在北美的华人社区中广泛发行。

Some Events

"Personal Freedom and the Good Life in the Zhuangzi: An Early Daoist Vision," Mahan Lecture, Gettysburg College, November 15, 2021

locationGettysburg College, Pennsylvania

"Zhuangzi and the Tragedy of Personal Freedom in Chinese History," Numata Lecture, University of Calgary, October 29, 2021

locationCalgary, Alberta, Canada

Chinese Philosophy Workshop

locationRutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ

In order to promote a better understanding of Chinese philosophy, Tao Jiang launched the Rutgers Workshop on Chinese Philosophy (RWCP) in 2012 with Stephen Angle (Wesleyan) and Ruth Chang (Rutgers) (Dean Zimmerman took over from Ruth Chang as a co-director in 2018 when Chang moved to Oxford). RWCP is designed to build a bridge between Chinese philosophy and Western analytic philosophy, promoting critical engagement and constructive dialogue between the two sides, with the hope of bringing the study of Chinese philosophy into the mainstream of philosophical discourse within the Western academy. It is run every other April. The next workshop, Virtue Epistemology and Chinese Philosophy, will be held on April 22, 2022.

A Conversation on China with Ian Johnson, a Pulitzer Prize Winning Journalist

locationZoom Webinar

In a wide-ranging conversation on September 25, 2020, facilitated by Tao Jiang (RCCS director, Religion Department) and Tanja Sargent (Graduate School of Education), Ian Johnson, a Pulitzer-Prize winner and one of the most prominent Western journalists on China, talked about the many facets of his life and experience as a journalist in China over the 20 years he spent there.

Interview with Hong Kong iFeng News (鳳凰網)

locationMt. Jiuhua, China

On July 21, 2019, Tao Jiang was interviewed in Mt. Jiuhua by iFeng News 鳳凰網, a popular Chinese language news channel headquartered in Hong Kong. The conversation focused on conceptions of freedom and their place in Chinese politics prior to the modern period. The content is loosely based on Jiang's article “Isaiah Berlin‘s Challenge to the Zhuangzian Freedom,” published in Journal of Chinese Philosophy in 2012. Here is the interview and here is an illustrated version of the interview. He was in Mt. Jiuhua to participate in a forum on Chan Buddhism and Chinese Culture, which received extensive coverages from iFeng News.

Religion and the Rebuilding of China's Moral Foundations

locationChina Institute, New York, NY

On June 7, 2018, Tao Jiang participated in a panel discussion at the China Institute on “Religion and the Rebuilding of China's Moral Foundations,” with freelance writer Ian Johnson (Pulitzer-prize winner and the author of The Souls of China: The Return of Religion after Mao), moderated by Los Angeles Times journalist Barbara Demick (former LA Times Beijing and Seoul bureau chief and the author of Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea). The event received an extensive coverage in the Sing Tao Daily 星島日報, a newspaper widely circulated among the Chinese community in North America.