中国先秦道德政治哲学的起源:仁爱、公正与自由之论辩

中国先秦道德政治哲学的起源:仁爱、公正与自由之论辩

牛津大学出版社

目录亚马逊有售从牛津大学出版社购买*

* 平装版有售,使用折扣码 AAFLYG6 享七折优惠。

《中国先秦道德政治哲学的起源:仁爱、公正与自由之论辩》是对先秦道德、政治哲学起源的系统诠释。中国哲学的奠基时期,即从孔子时代(公元前 551-479 年)到公元前 221 年秦朝的建立,一直被认为是中国思想史上最具创造性和活力的一个篇章。孔子、墨子、孟子、老子、商鞅、慎到、庄子、荀子、韩非子等人的作品代表了中国道德和政治思想的起源。近年来,许多中国知识分子以及政要都援引这些经典,尤其是儒家经典,足以证明这些经典的持久魅力。

本书在阐述中国道德、政治哲学的起源时提出了三个主要论点。首先,中国先秦时期的核心挑战是如何协调个人、家庭和政治领域之间的关系(有时也被描述为公私之间的关系)。旧秩序日渐崩溃,哲学家们都致力于重新想象与建构一个新的道德政治秩序,为这个新秩序构想出了一系列令人叹为观止的方案。第二,这些构想的方案可以被描述为仁爱与公正之间的对弈,以作为道德政治秩序的指导准则。儒家、墨家、老子和法家都是这一哲学论争的主导者,其论争的话题与思想的范式就是中国哲学奠基时期的主流思潮。第三,庄子及其追随者是这一主流思潮的局外人,他们拒绝了以仁爱和公正为主题的主流思潮。庄子是主张个人自由的孤独声音。他认为主流思想知识平庸、道德错乱,加剧了时局的动荡。有趣的是,所有这些哲学思辨都是在对天及其天人关系的理解不断发展变化的语境下展开的。

本书旨在提供一种新的范式来解释中国先秦哲学的主要议题与内在动力,并为理解推动中国道德、政治思想辩论中的核心问题提供新的思路。本书吸收了过去几十年来关于中国先秦哲学的学术成果,提出了一个新的总体框架,以重塑中国哲学形成期的整体形象。本书在哲学议题上力求系统全面,在历史议题上追求有理有据。

评荐

  • 安乐哲 (Roger T. Ames),北京大学

    “蒋韬在这本极具智慧的专著中为他的读者提供了两个语境。首先,在叙述中国道德、政治哲学的起源时,他涉及西方学术界在中国哲学问题上的政治论争,也充分汲取了西方汉学家和哲学家研究中国先秦文献的最新成果。其次,他以仁爱、公正和自由为主题,阐述了不同的哲学声音对 ‘天’ 的概念作出不同诠释,并在这一总体语境下探讨他们在建构与规范个人、家庭和政治关系时所进行的的思考以及不同范式之间的竞争。”

  • 慈继伟 (Jiwei Ci),香港大学

    “蒋韬在该书中展现出渊博的学识以及对各个哲学家的同理心。最重要的是,他以一个极为精辟的理论架构,对所有主要人物和思想流派进行了独特的揭示和整合,涵盖了整个中国哲学的奠基时期。这是一本罕见的著作,有可能改变人们对中国哲学的看法以及研究中国哲学的方式。假以时日,该书的学术论证与哲学洞见都应该使其成为中国哲学的经典之作。”

  • 戴维・王国旌 (David Wong),杜克大学

    “蒋韬对先秦时期中国的道德和政治哲学的发展进行了全面、系统的阐述。他整合了汉学和哲学中的许多见解,极富创意地提出,先秦哲学的主流可以理解为处理仁爱(与个人和家庭有关)和公正(与政治有关)之间的冲突。我强烈推荐此书与研究中国哲学的专家以及对中国道德和政治哲学感兴趣的人。”

目录

Loading PDF…

Origins of Moral-Political Philosophy in Early China

Origins of Moral-Political Philosophy in Early China

Oxford University Press

Table of ContentsAvailable on AmazonOrder from Oxford University Press*

* Paperback edition available. Get 30% off by using the code AAFLYG6.

This book, Origins of Moral-Political Philosophy in Early China: Contestation of Humaneness, Justice, and Personal Freedom, is a systematic presentation of the intellectual projects at the origins of moral-political philosophy in early China. The foundational period in Chinese philosophy, from the time of Confucius (551-479 BCE) to the establishment of the first unified imperial dynasty in 221 BCE, has always been considered the single most creative and vibrant chapter in Chinese intellectual history. Works attributed to Confucius, Mozi, Mencius, Laozi, Shang Yang, Shen Dao, Zhuangzi, Xunzi, Han Feizi and many others represent the origins of moral and political thought in China. As testimony to their enduring lure, in recent decades many Chinese intellectuals, and even leading politicians, have turned to those classics, especially Confucian texts, for alternative or complementary sources of moral authority and political legitimacy.

I make three key points in retelling this founding narrative of Chinese moral-political philosophy. First, the central intellectual challenge during the Chinese classical period was how to negotiate the relationships between the personal, the familial, and the political domains (sometimes also characterized as the relationship between the private and the public) when philosophers were reimagining and reconceptualizing a new sociopolitical order, due to the collapse of the old order. Consequently, philosophers offered a dazzling array of competing visions for that newly imagined order. Second, the competing visions can be characterized as a contestation between impartialist justice and partialist humaneness as the guiding norms of the newly imagined moral-political order, with the Confucians, the Mohists, the Laoists, and the so-called fajia (Legalist) thinkers being the major participants, constituting the mainstream intellectual project during this foundational period of Chinese philosophy. Third, Zhuangzi and the Zhuangists were the outliers of the mainstream moral-political debate during this period who rejected the very parameter of humaneness versus justice in the mainstream debate. Zhuangzi and the Zhuangists were a lone voice advocating personal freedom. For the Zhuangists, the mainstream debate was intellectually banal, morally misguided, and politically dangerous. All such efforts took place within the context of an evolving understanding of Heaven and its relationship with the humans.

This new narrative aims at offering an alternative paradigm to interpret the unique configuration of classical Chinese philosophical landscape and helping to chart a new course in understanding the central motivating issues underlying the Chinese moral-political debate at its very inception. The book has incorporated scholarship on classical Chinese philosophy of the last several decades, providing a new overarching framework to recast the narrative of this formative period of Chinese philosophy. It is philosophically schematic and historically informed.

Reviews

  • Roger T. Ames, Peking University

    “Tao JIANG in this hugely intelligent monograph provides his readers with an interpretive context twice. First, his project of rehearsing the story of the origins of Chinese moral-political philosophy is located within a state-of-the-art account of the politics of the Western academy and the best efforts of its Sinologists and philosophers to make sense of the complex textual narrative of pre-Qin China in all of its parts. Again, appealing to a cluster of seminal themes—humaneness, justice, and personal freedom—he recounts the way in which different philosophical voices advocated for their own disparate and competing models of structuring and construing personal, familial, and political relations within the overarching context of what are fundamentally different valorizations of the notion of Heaven.”

  • “Jiang ranges over the entire foundational period of Chinese philosophy with effortless erudition, unfailing intellectual sympathy, and, above all, a brilliantly economical conception that shines a uniquely revealing and integrating light on all the major figures and schools of thought. The result is that rare kind of book which has the potential to change the way Chinese philosophy is viewed and practiced, and has all the scholarly and philosophical attributes that should make it a classic in due course.”

  • David Wong, Duke University

    “Tao Jiang has provided a coherent and sweeping narrative of the development of moral and political philosophy in the classical period of Chinese philosophy. He integrates many plausible insights gleaned from sinology and philosophy to argue provocatively that the classical period can be understood in terms of a struggle to deal with conflicts between the values of humaneness (pertaining to the personal and familial realms) and of justice (pertaining to the political realm). This book is highly recommended both to specialists and to those with a more general interest in Chinese moral and political philosophy.”

Table of Contents

Loading PDF…